What’s on your wall? – Angry Blue

“I have never listened to anyone who criticized my taste in space travel, sideshows or gorillas. When this occurs, I pack up my dinosaurs and leave the room.” ― Ray Bradbury

.

Art has always been vital to me. From the moment I could pick up a pencil, I have been drawing. At school I used to create pen and ink drawings of the Manchester City players and sell them to all my City fan friends for 50p a time which kept me in sweets. (My mates couldn’t get enough of my Kazimierz Deyna.)

I love to create, but I also love to be inspired by the creativity of others.

What about you?

What hangs on your wall?

What inspires you?

What hangs on my wall is not just decorative, it is a statement of my personality and of my passions.

When I find an artist whose work inspires me, whose passion speaks to mine and fires me up, I feel a compulsion to own his or her work. To have their art on my wall, alive and kicking up a passionate storm in my life.

One of the pieces of art I own (or perhaps owns me) which hangs on my wall and speaks to me of inspiration is a piece titled – ‘Sleep is Wrong’ by Angry Blue.

.

.

SleepIsWrongYes, there are plastic corner-protectors on the frame. I’d like to say it was due to an artistic statement, but it’s not. I thought Jennifer was going to remove them, she thought I was going to remove them… we’re both still waiting for the other to do it. It has now become a ‘game of chicken’ between us which adds to the impact and inspiration of the piece itself.

.

.

I hate sleep. It feels like a waste of time even though I know I can’t live without it and that is perhaps the most galling thing about it. I am forced to do something I don’t want to do and, for a control freak (no, honestly, I am), that is the worst thing you can do. I am generous (I think) and always try to go the extra mile in my work and in my personal life, but if you demand I do something, well, then I simply won’t do it. Not until I decide to do it anyway because, then it is my choice.

Angry Blue aka Justin Kamerer is a friend of mine on Facebook and a damned fine illustrator whose work sells-out quickly. If you can get hold of one of his artworks before it vanishes you won’t regret it. His prices are incredibly reasonable for such an amazing talent, he ships to the UK, and most importantly, he speaks my language – No, not English, my visual language.

You can check him and his wonderful work out at his website – AngryBlue

He is very friendly and won’t bite.

So, what hangs on your wall and what does it mean to you?