Watches are just like bugs

surprising

Honestly they are. Just bear with me and I’ll explain. But first the introduction.

We at the Iconophile are constantly on the search for images that inspire us, that capture our imagination and most excitingly, that surprise us. That is why we want to see your wonderful photographs, illustrations and designs.

Today I feel like talking ‘macro’. The joyous art of photographing very small things.

A couple of years ago I shot a series which I called ‘Surprising Nature’. The name meant two things to me. On the one hand I was shooting tiny creatures without their permission. Sneaking up on them and capturing their most intimate and secret behaviour using an extreme macro lens. Surprising them like some kind of bug paparazzi. On the other hand, the results I got back never failed to surprise me.

A macro lens captures the things that you could never see with the naked eye. I would take the raw files in to photoshop without ever knowing what jewels I held and this excitement is the thrill that keeps me coming back for more.

I take that thrill in to my day job too. Shooting watches has much the same effect on me. The delicate decoration on the face of the watch like the patterns on a butterfly wing, the subtle curve of the bezel where the light hits it reminding me of the shell of a ladybird, and the tiny detailing on the crown revealing hidden treasures like the eyes of a fly. These beautiful details are only really brought to life once the image is captured and enlarged.

Below are a few of my favourite shots from the ‘Surprising Nature’ collection. (If you want to see some of my watch photography you can pop to our website using the link.)

butterflyweirdspidersladybird heart fly dragonflysex

It’s time to step up to the plate now and share some of your macro shots. Use the comments section to link us to your site and if we like what we see then we’ll give you a shout out and a follow.