Bringing Philias Switchmoat to life

“Since the day of my birth, my death began its walk. It is walking toward me, without hurrying.”  – Jean Cocteau

FULL IMAGE

Philias Switchmoat and his runaway bed. Illustration by Marcus Wild

A couple of years ago my first novel was published, Horizontal. The Recumbent Adventures of Philias Switchmoat The Third. The book tells of the struggles of one man to fit in with a society that he finds brash and alienating. Philias Switchmoat is an intensely deep character who feels every slight and every rejection as though it were a knife to the belly.

For the cover artwork I needed an illustrator who could bring Philias to life as I envisaged him and I turned to my friend Marcus Wild, an incredibly talented illustrator with many years experience working in London and Canada where he was employed as a game artist for Electronic Arts and Next Level Games on such prestigious game franchises as ‘Need For Speed’ and ‘Super Mario’.

I gave Marcus sample chapters of the novel to read and a few character pointers and discussed with him which key moments in the novel I felt would work best as cover art and Marcus immediately knew what was required and came back to me with some wonderful drawings that really lifted Philias off the page. As soon as I saw the initial sketches I knew that Philias had escaped the written word and become form.

Here is the final front cover of the novel which is available to buy from Amazon in paperback and Kindle versions. (Shameless plug.)

HORIZONTALCOVERfront

You can visit Marcus at his website or make contact with him on Facebook.

“I am not an outsider. I am an insider who discovered that everyone else had gone out.”  – Philias Switchmoat