Don’t Hide the Madness

“Follow your inner moonlight; don’t hide the madness.” ― Allen Ginsberg

.

.

What does – Express Yourself – mean?

More often than not when someone asks me to express myself, I get tongue-tied, self-conscious about playing to an audience, even if it is just an audience of one, and even if that one knows me quite well, and to deal with that as best as I can I end up doing something which could be considered awkward or which makes me or others feel awkward. Which is not exactly the result anyone actually wants from it.

We enjoy feeling comfortable, relaxed, open to experience, just not an awkward one.

However there are times when awkward is a fun and enjoyable for all means of self expression.

Bear with me on this. Be crazy like a fox licking its own nose…

.

FOXY

.

When we were working on the new website for our business, Stephen suggested that we add a little extra something (to our About Us page) which reflected and incorporated the quirkier side of us into it. Not sure what his thinking was behind this, but I trust him (most of the time – see image below).

This was one of those suggestions which could have ended up on that pile known as possible good ideas which may be a bit too off the wall to include.

Then again, when your business involves creativity and revolves around your creativity, can anything be labeled too off the wall?

.

Is that your Arm?A still from our self-expression stop motion video (full video below)

.

Yes. Maybe, but this made it through our censors and has become a personal favourite. Not just of ours but of those who know us, either through business or otherwise.

I’d like to claim some credit in this because I love it, and I can claim a bit, I did a tiny part in it – gave my voice to it – however the work was all done by Stephen who is a passionate pursuer of turning ideas into reality, and is very persistent in his pursuit.

It’s not a photograph, it’s many photographs collaborating together (as Stephen and I did) to create a form of self-expression which… well, you decide for yourself and let us know what you think (if you’re still here and haven’t run away).

.

SDDP – the video

.

.

“I may not agree with you, but I will defend to the death your right to make an ass of yourself.” ― Oscar Wilde

.

.