Where is my mind?

“With your feet on the air and your head on the ground
Try this trick and spin it, yeah” – ‘Where is my mind’ – Pixies

Right now, my mind is straying in to the past, reminiscing, unearthing treasures thought lost and I felt like sharing a shot I took a couple of years ago for Rotary watches.

WETRANSFER03

The reason I love this shot so much is that it appeals not just to the photographer in me but also to the designer. The balance of the shot, the way the elements are spaced pleases my eye greatly. It was a technically tricky shot to capture, particularly given that the final image was used 4 metres wide on an exhibition panel at the Basel watch fair and a small item like a watch, when blown up that large, tends to show off every flaw that would otherwise be invisible to the eye. Still, anyone who knows me will tell you that I do like a challenge.

The final shot uses Adobe Photoshop to combine many photographs to produce the one image, layering different elements of the watch and applying the sensation of movement which demonstrates how the dial rotates to reveal a different face on each side, one for daytime use and one for evening wear.

“Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards.” – Søren Kierkegaard

Looking back can be a great way of revealing the progress you have made and occasionally, like this shot, it highlights a moment when you got everything right.

Sometimes, when I am mired in a project and the solution seems to be evading me I look back on past works and find a piece that reminds me that the solution is always there, I just need to step back, clear my mind and it will be revealed.