Giving Animated Life to Concepts

“Some things that move us are beautiful, others are sublime. But the sublime moves us more profoundly than the beautiful.”

.

Edmund Burke on the Sublime – See how Edmund Burke tied the experience of the sublime to the possibility of pain and how the idea went on to influence the artistic Romanticism movement. Voiced by Harry Shearer. Scripted by Nigel Warburton.

.

Have you ever had a thought on the tip of the tongue of your mind, but no matter how hard you squeeze your brain it just won’t spit it out?

You know that you know the answer to a question, but when you need it, it is nowhere to be found. A while later, when you no longer need it, there it is!

The other day as I was perusing the prompts which The Daily Post offers, I came across one which asked the question:

“If you had to choose between being able to write a blog (but not read others’) and being able to read others’ blogs (but not write your own), which would you pick? Why?”

This reminded me of a classic ethical experiment and brain teaser, but I could not recall what it was called. I had a case of the presque vu’s, the tip of the tongue’s, until I happened upon a brilliant animated and narrated series by the BBC – A History of Ideas

.

The Trolley Problem – Is sacrificing one life to save the lives of many others the best possible outcome? Narrated by Harry Shearer. Scripted by Nigel Warburton.

.

These are, to me, both beautiful and sublime. My eyes gasped at the creativity and inspiration. How wonderful to be able to see a concept come alive before the eyes. What a great way to learn. And some of them really tickled my humerus.