The Unspoken Law of Gravity

“You know how sometimes you lie in bed at night and think, “What if the law of gravity just wears out and lets go and I drift into space?” Does that ever make you anxious?”
― Elaine May

.

Show me the way

.

There are so many rules, regulations, laws – official and unofficial, in life and in the living of life, that sometimes I wonder if every breath I take is breaking one of them, and I’m not sure whether I should be concerned about the breakage or not.

If in pursuit of doing something which I love I happen to break a law, be it a human one, official or unofficial, or one of a different kind, like a natural law, should I take cover, quickly sort out my excuses to find one which will get me out of a tricky situation and maybe allow me to get off scot-free or just with a warning, or should I do something else.

Taking cover is my go-to method of dealing with this type of uncertainty. Take cover and then from your hiding place keep doing what you were doing or maybe not.

Recently I followed the call of my heart and took a trip to a local cemetery to take some photographs. I felt kind of sheepish about going there to do that, worried that it was inappropriate in some way and perhaps breaking a law of respect, of gravity.

But it’s such a beautiful place.

.

Lean on me

.

I wanted to linger, yet also hastened my wish to linger in case I offended someone, be they here or elsewhere. Although I felt more worry when it came to those still here rather than those who have broken the rule of gravity and drifted, releasing their mortal coil and all the laws, official and unofficial, but not natural ones, which go with it. The latter seemed happy for me to wander and capture what remains. I wasn’t so sure that the living would see it that way.

I don’t think I’m brazen enough for photography, yet my timidity could be a source of inspiration. There are many ways to see the same thing, a myriad of angles, a cornucopia of perspectives.

.

Speed limit

.