Stop! Motion.

“Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible.” – Frank Zappa

I promised you regular progress updates on The Iconophile’s new stop motion animation movie and here we have some early pics of the two ‘lead actors’ in the film.

MODELupdateIMAGES

I began with a wire frame created by twisting two strands of modelling wire together which makes the ‘limb’ stronger and also more flexible than a single strand of thicker wire.

These strands were joined together using metal joints that allow the limbs to be connected to a single heavy wire backbone for strength. The legs were secured by tiny screws in to special foot joints that have holes allowing me to eventually bolt them to the final ‘stage’ to ensure the models do not fall over or shift when fine adjustments are being made during the animating process.

I then worked a rough body shape using plasticine, refining it until I had the correct body proportions. Once this was achieved I rolled out more plasticine in to thin sheets and used these to wrap around the body simulating clothes. The addition of smaller details such as belts, pockets and logos on the clothing complete the effect.

I’m working my magic on the heads right now and will post pics of these very soon.

Shooting will hopefully begin in about a week once I have finished writing the script and I will be filming some behind-the-scenes coverage of this process exclusively for followers of The Iconophile.

And for anyone that missed the earlier post, here is the ‘stage’ awaiting the ‘two principal players’. The table on the right might be changed as I am looking at building a new one using balsa wood to better compliment the scene and I will document this progress when it happens.

STOP=MOTION blog intro

 “I’ve become skeptical of the unwritten rule that just because a boy and girl appear in the same feature, a romance must ensue. Rather, I want to portray a slightly different relationship, one where the two mutually inspire each other to live – if I’m able to, then perhaps I’ll be closer to portraying a true expression of love.” – Hayao Miyazaki