What immortal hand or eye…

“Tyger! Tyger! burning bright
In the forests of the night,
What immortal hand or eye
Could frame thy fearful symmetry?”

.
― William Blake

.

.

I must admit that I can’t think of symmetry without being reminded of William Blake’s The Tyger?

Perhaps because I heard the poem, loved it and felt that I understood it without really understanding it, long before I understood what symmetry meant, and long before I realised that a concept like symmetry could be represented by a word which wasn’t symmetrical.

Shouldn’t it be represented by a palindrome?

And shouldn’t a palindrome be represented by a palindrome?

Madam I’m Adam… and won’t make any sense unless you make sense of me and ignore what doesn’t make sense about me.

Never mind. It’s Valentine’s Day, a day of never minds of that which is of the mind. Focus on the heart. And predictions about this and that perhaps.

Like the predictions which can be found in the remains of your coffee. In the patterns created by the grains at the bottom of your coffee cup if you explore such things – which I don’t normally do unless they look like an octopus.

.

Predictions?

.

.

This is just a bit of fun, the kind of fun which sometimes inspires other things, like design – the area in which I work. Who knows when a random design caused by random grains on the bottom of a random coffee cup which I randomly drunk may be relevant to a design, a logo, a something somewhere which may lead to something else. The illusion creates something real. A coffee grain octopus may become a photo in a post on a blog which is nothing more than it is or maybe it is. It could be more, it could be less. It is a door, perhaps.

Not all symmetry is symmetrical, just as the word itself isn’t what it describes.

.

.

“In the universe, there are things that are known, and things that are unknown, and in between, there are doors.”
― William Blake