Iconoplaylist: The Decemberists

“Don’t know how I survived
The crew all was chewed alive
I must have slipped between his teeth
But, oh, what providence
What divine intelligence
That you should survive
As well as me
It gives my heart great joy
To see your eyes fill with fear
So lean in close
And I will whisper
The last words you’ll hear” – The Decemberists

Imagine if you will,  being cast out upon the sea. Adrift. The waves tossing you to and fro as the sharks circle. Just you, your camera, a studio full of lights and that’s where the analogy breaks down. My point being, SDDP’s photographic studio is currently awash with the gorgeous sounds of The Decemberists, a band that does nothing to disprove the theory that all things from Portland are weird and wonderful.

Lead singer Colin Meloy’s voice is strident, poetic, lyrical, pleading, haunting, and yet as beautifully conducive to the work environment as it is to relaxing in the evening with a long drink. But this is not a review of the band. There are plenty of those out there and most, like any reviews of the creative arts, are best avoided. Instead, try listening to this amazing live video and form your own opinion.

The Decemberists – The mariner’s revenge song (Live)

For me, this is pretty much the perfect song and the perfect live performance. It has everything. I take my music as I try to take everything else in life, with passion, intensity and a sense of humour. The Decemberists tick every box.