He Sees / She Sees

“No man has the right to dictate what other men should perceive, create or produce, but all should be encouraged to reveal themselves, their perceptions and emotions, and to build confidence in the creative spirit.”
― Ansel Adams

.

.

I have hair of the colour which some people might consider to be orange. I won’t argue with you if you call it that. It used to be much brighter, these days it’s darker – I guess hair changes shade as people change (although I’m still a crazy ginger/redhead/copper top). Or is it just perception which shifts and keeps shifting?

Many years ago I had a very silly argument with a friend about the colour of a light bulb. I said orange. He said yellow. He wanted me to see yellow. I wanted him to see orange. Neither of us won. I remember that moment because I came out of it with an understanding that still moves from shade to hue, that what I see is not necessarily what others perceive and vice versa.

This can, at times, be annoying or problematic, however it is also fascinating and inspiring. To see what others see and to share with others what you see – we may never see eye to eye, but we can try to catch a glimpse of another’s view and let it enrich ours.

.

He Sees - behindShe Sees - aheadHis shot of me (above) while I was taking this shot (below).

.

Stephen and I both love to take photographs. What he sees and captures through his lens is often very different from what I see and capture through my lens, even though we may be photographing the same thing (and pushing each other out of the way to get the shot).

We thought this would make a fun feature on our blog. So we’re giving it a try and will see what happens. It’s going to be a bit different each time.

This time I thought it would be amusing to contrast pictures taking on a couple of outings. Where he’s taking a shot of me (Really, stop it! No, wait, now we can blog it!) while I’m taking a shot of something else.

.

He Sees - curvesShe Sees - circles

.

The photos aren’t strictly speaking – orange – however… don’t argue with a ginger/redhead/copper top about matters concerning things being orange unless you’re willing to dig in for the long haul where arguments are concerned (and don’t mind being singed by the flames of our stereotypical temper – that’s a completely accurate stereotype, so watch it!).

.

.

“Maybe each human being lives in a unique world, a private world different from those inhabited and experienced by all other humans. . . If reality differs from person to person, can we speak of reality singular, or shouldn’t we really be talking about plural realities? And if there are plural realities, are some more true (more real) than others?”
― Philip K. Dick