The Ace of Spades

poker hand2

“The Earth is God’s pinball machine and each quake, tidal wave, flash flood and volcanic eruption is the result of a TILT that occurs when God, cheating, tries to win free games.” – Tom Robbins

.

Why do you want to win? So others think you’re the best? Then go ahead and cheat. You can claim the adoration of those that clap and cheer and you can pretend you earned it. That cool with you? Care to tell me what the point is because I don’t get it. I want to win for me, not for anyone else and if I cheat, well I’m going to know it, right? So perhaps you cheat because you think everyone else is cheating and that’s the only way to win. Who are you, Lance Armstrong? Put down the yellow jersey dude. You didn’t earn it.

Is there a message here? Not really. We all have a personal moral code and one person’s cheating is another’s ‘playing the game’ or ‘bucking the system’. If you’re honest with yourself about your reasons and you’re cool with it, then go for it. Just hope you don’t come up against someone whose moral code is unaligned with yours. That never works out well. You might want to think about that before you tuck the Ace of Spades up your sleeve.

.

“You know I’m born to lose, and gambling’s for fools, but that’s the way I like it baby, I don’t wanna live for ever.” – The Ace of Spades, Motorhead