The Bearable Lightness of Travel

WANDERER

.

“On a long journey even a straw weighs heavy” – Spanish proverb

.

I travel light. I hate to be encumbered. The least number of items I can pack, the happier I will be and besides, the smaller the suitcase, the less room for your troubles and nobody wants to take their troubles away with them.

That’s why God invented overhead lockers. To ensure we don’t carry with us more than is absolutely necessary. What do you really need. A couple of weather-appropriate outfits, a very limited number of toiletries, passport, ticket and money. You can work the rest out when you get there. Right? So put away the matching Louis Vuitton, grab an overnight bag and have at it. What fits in there you can take. What doesn’t, stays.

Oh and don’t overthink it. Get there and see what grabs your interest. Don’t plan every step with military precision. Life doesn’t work that way and you’ll only end up disappointed. The very best trips I have ever taken always started with the unknown and ended with a host of new experiences and none of them were planned.

So, travel light and don’t overthink it. That’s how to be a Happy Wanderer.

.

“The traveler sees what he sees. The tourist sees what he has come to see.” – G.K. Chesterton

*Thanks to pixshark.com for the travel stickers image I used in my pic.