Hanging Up on the Telephone

Open Telephone

.

“I had to interrupt and stop this conversation
Your voice across the line gives me a strange sensation”

– Blondie, Hanging on the Telephone

.

What stresses you out?

The mere thought of it sends a spasm,

of a reflex,

of a rebel yell,

of a ‘No!’

through you.

.

When I saw the fourth…

(I think it’s the fourth,

but numbers stress me out,

as do lists)

photography prompt in the list,

with which I am currently,

torturing myself,

rather pleasurably

Something That Stresses You Out

my mind went blank,

and for a second,

I was under the deluded illusion that nothing stressed me out,

but then I heard time ticking away…

(Time limits stress me out)

and suddenly I was blessed with the recollection of the multitude of things,

which make my insides scream.

It’s not the telephone itself which causes internal tumult,

the invention is spiffing,

it’s how certain people use it which enervates the nerves.

.

“I’m in the phone booth, it’s the one across the hall
If you don’t answer, I’ll just ring it off the wall”

– Blondie, Hanging on the Telephone