Up Close and Personal

Ask the Other

.

“One day you will ask me which is more important? My life or yours? I will say mine and you will walk away not knowing that you are my life.”
― Kahlil Gibran

.

If there is one photographic challenge,

which can bring even the most adept,

photographer,

to their knees,

it’s the self portrait.

.

It’s easy to look outside of ourselves,

not so easy on the eye to turn it towards ourselves.

.

Stephen met this challenge with the kind of bold,

courage,

or crazy,

which inspires me.

.

He would have been my natural,

and obvious,

choice,

for the sixth photography prompt,

in the list I’m following (and wish I would stop doing so)

Someone Who Inspires You

but,

he did something,

here (or see below),

which made me rethink things.

He’s always inspiring me to rethink things.

.

“Let there be spaces in your togetherness, And let the winds of the heavens dance between you. Love one another but make not a bond of love: Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.”
― Kahlil Gibran

.

He is more professional,

more skilled,

than I am,

but,

I am more wily,

because I’m a Jack,

of all trades, master of none,

always popping out of the box,

when people wind me up.

.

So I opted for a pic of myself,

as,

ultimately I choose who inspires me,

and how that inspiration works,

which is,

sometimes annoying of me to do that,

and sometimes it is something else.

that’s my sandwich.

.

“Beauty is not in the face; beauty is a light in the heart.”
― Kahlil Gibran

.

Stephen often gives me this look…

.

SHY

.

when I say things like the ones in this post.