Putting Your Foot Down

Treading It

.

“A lie can travel half way around the world while the truth is putting on its shoes.”
― Mark Twain

.

I don’t know who started the rumour,

that women are supposed to love shoes,

above all else,

except perhaps chocolate,

but it has now become a truth,

whether it is true or not.

.

When myths become true,

they sell products.

.

De Beers created a myth to sell diamonds,

at a time when people weren’t interested in buying their diamonds,

and we now accept that myth as a given.

.

I am a woman,

at least I am fairly certain of that,

but am I a woman if I don’t love shoes?

I’m not particularly enamoured of chocolate either.

Nor do I need a diamond ring to win my fealty,

as I don’t wear jewellery.

.

The shot above is for the photo prompt

Your Favourite Shoes

I decided to go with myth over truth,

as my favourite shoes are my bare feet,

but when I go out in public,

I dress them up,

pretend I like chocolate,

and sometimes wear jewellery.

I run on the treadmill of life,

as we know it.

.

“You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes. You can steer yourself any direction you choose. You’re on your own. And you know what you know. And YOU are the one who’ll decide where to go…”
― Dr. Seuss