The Soft Underbelly

The Soft Underbelly

.

“I love cats because I enjoy my home; and little by little, they become its visible soul.”
― Jean Cocteau

.

We didn’t set out to adopt a cat,

we were rescuing baby wild rabbits,

the story is long and convoluted,

and includes the perils of visiting an animal sanctuary,

deciding to have a look around,

while waiting for news about rescued baby wild rabbits.

.

Stephen’s eyes met with those of a skinny feral kitten,

they recognised each other,

and that became that.

.

The latest photography prompt,

on the list I’m attempting to capture,

is

A Picture of Your Pet or Pets

I’m not really sure if this is that,

as feral cats don’t consider themselves to be,

the pets of the humans they adopt,

and Stephen doesn’t consider himself,

as my pet,

however I do love to pet them both,

as they have a most delightfully soft underbelly,

even though they both appear on the surface,

to be quite fierce,

in their personal style.

.

“Style is a simple way of saying complicated things.”
― Jean Cocteau