Inspired by Dreams and Madness

Who is your favourite artist?

That’s one of those questions which can induce,

both dreams and madness,

depending on how it is perceived,

in the moment.

.

“The creation of a single world comes from a huge number of fragments and chaos.”
― Hayao Miyazaki

.

One of my favourite artists is,

Hayao Miyazaki.

.

Hayao Miyazakiimage via Zerochan

.

When I was a child, I loved to draw,

often while watching a Japanese cartoon on TV.

I would draw myself into the cartoons,

to be a part of the worlds they opened up to me,

colourful to the eye and to the mind,

inviting the imagination to wander, explore, discover itself.

.

“Life is a winking light in the darkness.”
― Hayao Miyazaki

.

Drawing a line,

especially on a blank piece of paper,

can be one of the hardest things to do in life,

as well as the most fun.

That line is the beginning of the visual part of a story within you,

which wants to express itself outside of you,

share itself,

and how it is drawn can shape the path of the story.

.

kingdom of dreams and madnessThe Kingdom of Dreams and Madness (2013)

.

As I grew out of my child self,

I lost some of the things which seemed so important to the child,

the adult thought it had to give those up.

I’d forgotten about them until I saw Spirited Away.

.

Spirited AwaySpirited Away (2001)

.

It all came flooding back as though it had never been lost,

left behind,

with inspiration.

Shortly afterwards,

I bought a set of colouring pencils,

but I’ve never used them,

which means those coloured lines and what they represent,

are perfect for the latest photography prompt

Something You Own But Never Use

.

Pencil pusher

.

But what is it that I own and never use,

is it really the pencils?

Where do you draw the line?

.

“To be born means being compelled to choose an era, a place, a life. To exist here, now, means to lose the possibility of being countless other potential selves. Yet once being born there is no turning back. And I think that’s exactly why the fantasy worlds of cartoon movies so strongly represent our hopes and yearnings. They illustrate a world of lost possibilities for us.”
― Hayao Miyazaki

.