Neither a Borrower nor a Lender be…

“Neither a borrower nor a lender be, for loan oft loses both itself and friend, and borrowing dulls the edge of husbandry.”
― William Shakespeare, Hamlet

.

Whenever someone asks me to lend them something,

I remind myself of that piece of advice,

from the Bard,

immortal words about being a mortal,

which I have borrowed,

and which are now,

part of my collection of,

borrowed things,

which I never give back,

but which I may pass on,

through lending,

as they have been to me.

.

 

Jay Feather Fly

.

The latest photography prompt

Something You’re Currently Borrowing From Someone

had me scratching my head,

to recall what was mine and what was not mine.

.

Is anything ever ours,

including our thoughts,

or ideas?

We see things as ours,

but are they?

Isn’t borrowing from others,

part of the creative process,

and are our creations,

truly ours,

or part of another’s creative process?

.

What came to mind,

is a feather,

which a local Jay,

kindly let me borrow.

I’m fairly certain that it does not want it back,

so the lending of the feather,

could be considered a gift,

but I see it as borrowed,

from a someone,

and perhaps one day,

it will be something I lend,

and pass on,

to another someone.

.

“She learned a lot and some of the things she learned were hard to accept. She was made to realize once and for all that this earth on which they lived turning about in space did not revolve, as she had believed, for the sake of little people. “Nor for big people either,” she reminded the boy when she saw his secret smile.”
― Mary Norton, The Borrowers