Ring of Fire

Coco Mask

.

“All that is gold does not glitter,
Not all those who wander are lost;
The old that is strong does not wither,
Deep roots are not reached by the frost.”

― J.R.R. Tolkien

.

Where is your mythical land,

what place inspires you,

with longing to be there,

live its magic,

breathe in its air,

its scents,

its colour,

beauty,

and lore?

.

For me that place was Bali,

a land of enchantment,

in its nature,

legends,

and people.

.

I felt this way about a place I had never been,

due to watching,

Ring of Fire – An Indonesian Odyssey.

The two brothers who created this excellent documentary,

spent some time living in Bali,

and seemed so at home,

in a foreign land which welcomed and embraced them,

as they were,

and they learned much by being there,

about the nature of being.

.

The latest photography prompt

A Souvenir From a Vacation

reminded me of this mask,

bought in Bali,

when I finally visited my mythical land.

.

By the time I got there,

it was a haven of a different sort,

for tourists and travelers,

rife with all the things which they bring with them,

when they invade a place,

seeking its beauty for themselves,

as I was,

yet,

it still held the enchantment which it had promised.

.

“From the ashes a fire shall be woken,
A light from the shadows shall spring;
Renewed shall be blade that was broken,
The crownless again shall be king.”

― J.R.R. Tolkien