The Riddle of the Sphinx

Through the Spy Glass

.

“What is the creature that walks on four legs in the morning, two legs at noon and three in the evening?”

.

It’s very simple,

really it is,

or so we are told,

by storytellers old and wise,

who have survived to pass on their tales.

All you have to do is answer,

the riddle of the Sphinx,

and if you answer correctly,

you are allowed to live,

happily ever after.

.

The latest photography prompt,

A Book You’re Reading

is actually a manuscript,

of a soon to be published book,

shared with me by the author,

whose work I admire,

and which has inspired me greatly.

.

I couldn’t take a picture of the manuscript,

for reasons of respecting privacy, copyright, and such,

but I could take a snapshot of how I felt while reading it.

.

I felt a bit like Miss Marple,

or another one of those much loved detectives,

seekers of truth,

and seers of human nature.

.

“Everybody is very much alike, really. But fortunately, perhaps, they don’t realise it. – Miss Marple”
― Agatha Christie