Relationship status (with the mirror): It’s Complicated

Mirrored - Complications

.

“I wondered, as I wondered so often when I was that age, who I was, and what exactly was looking at the face in the mirror. If the face I was looking at wasn’t me, and I knew it wasn’t, because I would still be me whatever happened to my face, then what was me? And what was watching?”
― Neil Gaiman

.

You are being watched.

This is what we are repeatedly told.

People are watching us,

prying into our privacy,

spying on us,

on everything we do,

listening to everything we say,

keeping a record of us.

But they don’t care about us,

they just want our information,

to use it against us,

to steal from us,

either nefariously,

or through other more legal means,

targeting us with advertising,

based on what we do,

say,

like,

and such.

.

The watchers are being watched too,

and they dislike it as much as we do,

perhaps more than we do because they know the minds,

the intentions,

motivations,

behind the eyes doing the watching.

.

However,

as much as being watched is unnerving,

invasive,

a part of us needs to be seen,

wants to be known,

by eyes other than our own.

.

We need to be mirrored.

.

To know who we are,

to know that we are.

.

If others don’t see us,

do we exist?

.

But what about when we see ourselves.

.

Our relationship with the mirror,

is complicated,

fraught with complications.

.

“Sometimes you will look into a mirror and feel the eyes of Despair upon you, feel her hook catch and snag on your heart.”
― Neil Gaiman

.

* for C is for…… Complication

.

This blog is not all about (one) me,

it is about a love of images, icons, photography, creativity, and more,

hence the name,

and the motivations and intentions of those behind it.

Yet all these things are a mirror,

for us.

It’s complicated,

as all things,

and relationships,

are,

even when they are simple.

.

“It’s an artist’s job to show people the world they live in. We hold up mirrors.”
― Neil Gaiman

.