I Am Merely The Joker

Venetian Joker Card

.

 “I don’t belong anywhere.
I am neither a heart, a diamond, a club, nor a spade. I am neither a King, a Jack, an Eight, nor an Ace.
As I am here – I am merely the Joker, and who that is I have had to find out for myself.”

― Jostein Gaarder

.

Every day,

in every way,

we rely on the kindness of strangers,

often in manner so subtle,

neither we,

nor they,

notice.

.

Perhaps,

it is one of the little jokes of life

– Life is the greatest Joker –

that we pay more attention,

when others are unkind,

than we do when they are kind.

.

Kindness hides,

behind,

many masks,

guises,

sleights of hand,

and is only seen,

when the trickster,

is caught in the act,

shocking us with a smile,

unexpected.

.

Beneath the layers of the Joker,

beats a wild heart,

that knows pain,

and tries to alleviate it,

through pranks of levity.

.

“It is different for the Joker, because he was put into this world with a flaw:
he sees too deeply and too much.

Truth is a lonely thing.”

― Jostein Gaarder

.

JOKEReffect

.

He may seem scary,

but this particular Joker,

(above)

is one of the kindest strangers,

I have ever had the pleasure to meet,

and know.

He is no longer a stranger of one sort,

but he gets stranger the longer I know him,

and his kindness seems to know no bounds.

.

“I have gone around observing your activities from the outside.
Because of this I have also been able to see things to which you have been blind.”

― Jostein Gaarder

.

* J is for Joker