He says: L is for lepidopterology

BUTTERFLY

.

L is for Lepidopterology.

What now?

It is the study of butterflies and moths.

If that term applies to those that study them through the viewfinder then I am indeed a lepidopterologist.

I study them and they in turn, study me. And sometimes stick their tongues out at me.

And I return the favour.

Perhaps you think you’ve seen this pic before. That’s because it appeared on this blog many moons ago.

Today I went out in the garden and shot new pics of butterflies.

One even landed on my hand.

And it was delightful.

But I have yet to shoot a better photograph of a butterfly than the one I shot a few years ago.

Only this time it has graphics to boot.

The cover of a book I created and titled ‘Surprising Nature.’

But who was surprised? Them or me?

Perhaps the title page might help explain….

.

BUTTERFLY2

.

“Butterflies are self propelled flowers.” – Robert A. Heinlein

.