The Mask of Obscenity

Five card - Mask of Obscenity 1

.

“Show me a man or a woman alone and I’ll show you a saint. Give me two and they’ll fall in love. Give me three and they’ll invent the charming thing we call ‘society’. Give me four and they’ll build a pyramid. Give me five and they’ll make one an outcast.”

― Stephen King

.

O is for Obscenity

Oh,

dear,

what can the matter be?

.

The matter can be,

anything you make of it.

.

Yet,

I did not know what to make,

of,

the matter of obscenity,

until I imagined the faces,

expressions alive,

of those who have,

heard or seen,

something which they find obscene,

tasted or touched,

something which evokes disgust,

caught the scent,

of a vulgar stench.

.

“Matilda told such Dreadful Lies,
It made one Gasp and Stretch one’s Eyes.”

― Hilaire Belloc
.

Five card - Mask of Obscenity 2