He says: Q is for Quirky

.

What does quirky mean to you?

To me it means an eccentricity, something that is different, unusual, peculiar.

I decided to do a self portrait, except that we don’t consider the things we do ourselves to be peculiar because for us, they are normal. They might be quirky to others but this is a self portrait.

.

QUIRKY degas

.

So what is quirky about this image?

Is it the rose in the teeth? Well, roses often appear in my photography. The Rose forms a part of my logo. So nothing unusual there.

Is it the skull rings? No. I wear them all the time. Same with the necklace and bracelet. Not peculiar for me.

However I never wear hats. So me in a hat…… That’s quirky.

But a photograph would never do. Nothing quirky there. I take them all the time. So I asked Edgar Degar to paint it for me instead. I’d love to be able to paint but I knew I could never be as good as the masters no matter how hard I practiced and I hate being anything but the best so thanks to Edgar for poking a brush out from beyond the grave and adding his flourish to my creation.

Now that’s quirky.

.

“In painting you must give the idea of the true by means of the false.” – Edgar Degas

.