He says: V is for Vinyl

.

“People don’t appreciate music any more. They don’t adore it. They don’t buy vinyl and just love it. They love their laptops like their best friend, but they don’t love a record for its sound quality and its artwork.” – Laura Marling

.

VINYL

.

There’s something about vinyl.

30 years ago I sold all my vinyl and my record player. It seemed like the right thing to do at the time.

I kind of regret it now.

But my musical tastes have evolved, and so I probably wouldn’t listen to them anyway.

Which doesn’t change the fact that there is something special about vinyl.

The tactile grooves. The large cover artwork with its own unique smell, lyric sheets you could actually read, the physical act of placing the stylus on the record, and of course not forgetting that rich, warm sound that only vinyl gives you.

CD were crisper sounding and for a while that made you forget how pure the record actually felt. The booklets were smaller but still there, and then there was the manual feeding of the disk that still gave some sense of substance, but it always felt like a poor substitute for the real thing.

Not forgetting the smell of a second hand vinyl shop. Like a used book store, it is a magical smell that you don’t get from a rack full of CD’s.

And now we have digital downloads. If you are lucky you get a digital booklet, the sound reminds you that you are swapping quality for convenience and there is nothing tactile about clicking the play button.

I have spent the last ten years looking for an excuse to get a new record player and this challenge was the perfect time. So yesterday I bought one. And photographed it. As is my want.

I am not sure how much I will use it, but I will certainly pick up a few of my favourite albums on vinyl and reminisce about the good old days.

Vinyl smelt, felt and sounded better. Bulky, inconvenient to store and expensive to produce but better.

I look forward to my first trip for 30 years to a vinyl exchange store and the idea of thumbing through those old records fills me with joy.

.

“That tactile feel of flipping through a stack of vinyl remains one of life’s simple pleasures.” – Billy Gibbons

.