That Wonderland Feeling

Caterpillar Wonderland

.

`Are you content now?’ said the Caterpillar.

– Lewis Carroll

.

It was a blustery day,

I was hot and sweaty,

grimy from gardening,

nothing W is for Wonderland about that,

or the feeling of still having so much to do,

even though I’d had enough.

.

Then I saw it,

a bright splash of colour in a sea of green,

sailing the waves of wind as they tossed the branch it was on up and down.

I moved in closer,

all else forgotten,

eyes full of wonder,

as I watched the caterpillar weathering the storm of life.

.

“Aren’t you dizzy, Caterpillar?”

.

Caterpillar Wonderland 2

.

“I am content,” it replied,

“What about you?”

.

`You’ll get used to it in time,’ said the Caterpillar; and it put the hookah into its mouth and began smoking again.

– Lewis Carroll

.