Rabbit in a Tree

Tree Rabbit

.

“Our perceptions are fallible. We sometimes see what isn’t there. We are prey to optical illusions. Occasionally we hallucinate. We are error-prone.”
― Carl Sagan

.

Yesterday I spotted a rabbit,

sitting in a tree.

.

I was as surprised to see such a sight,

as you are doubtful that I saw it.

.

I am not as stupid as I sometimes seem.

.

“There is an optical illusion about every person we meet.”
― Ralph Waldo Emerson

.

I knew no one would believe me,

so I quickly gathered evidence,

in the shape of a photograph (above).

.

Of course you can’t believe your eyes,

especially not on the internet,

not with that thing known as photoshopping,

available to so many pranksters and hoaxers.

.

This is not a prank or a hoax,

or photoshop being used that way,

it is what it is…

that is not a rabbit…

(it’s just a wood pigeon pretending to be a rabbit)

this is a rabbit (below)

.

Rabbit

.

But for a moment,

my mind,

enjoyed an optical illusion.

.

“Beauty is a question of optics. All sight is illusion.”
― Joyce Carol Oates

.