He says: Y is for Youthful

YOUTHFUL

.

When I was a child, I spoke like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up childish ways. – 1 Corinthians 13:11

.

As a child I used to visit my father at his office and I was excited by the idea of growing up. Of his big important job in his big important office with his small but important secretary.

I was around 10 when I decided I needed to grow up quickly and become an adult. I counted the years till the day when I could leave education behind me and flick a switch. Instant adult. Leave my youthful ways behind and move in to the next phase of my life.

Of course there’s no switch. We move through the years and we evolve but we never leave the child behind. Why can’t the passions of youth become the passions of adulthood?

Perhaps that 10 year old knew it too. Some of the happiest evenings of my childhood were spent helping my dad with his stamp collection. Carefully cutting the mounts with a scalpel. So precise, perfect. Perhaps this is where my perfectionism comes from. My attention to detail, one of the most vital ingredients in my design and photography.

Why this walk down memory lane? Perhaps because in a few weeks time I will be 50. A half century. I should be holding my bat aloft and celebrating with the crowd.

But I don’t move with the crowd. So I shall celebrate with Jennifer and with our cat and I will be thankful that I have so much in my life and that those things I am supposed to have cast out in my search for adulthood are still very much a part of me.

My childish ways inspire my adult life.

So why not reason like a child? I find that children have far more reason than adults.

.