The Magnified Soul

Magnifying Glass - JD

.

“My passions, concentrated on a single point, resemble the rays of a sun assembled by a magnifying glass: they immediately set fire to whatever object they find in their way.”
― Marquis de Sade

.

One of the aspects which I find most exciting about creative projects,

challenges,

ideas,

which are done for personal reasons,

rather than professional ones,

or for others in any way,

shape or form,

is what we do when we can do anything,

how we use our freedom to express ourselves,

as we please,

no holds barred.

.

Sometimes I fail,

because too much freedom becomes a hindrance,

an obstacle course,

a gauntlet made by self,

for self to run and…

often I fall to my creative death while doing it.

.

I’m not completely satisfied with what I did with the first object,

the magnifying glass,

in our Objectivity challenge.

It has only succeeded n magnifying my flaws,

faults,

failure.

.

“What we are doing here is only the image of what we would like to do.”
― Marquis de Sade

.

When you can do anything – what do you do?

.

You fall apart at the seems,

as I did,

while trying to capture something elusive,

a vision,

a part of you,

your soul, perhaps.

.

Still,

it’s always fascinating to see what emerges and what you go with,

this image isn’t quite what I had in mind,

but something about it,

hits a spot,

and as much as I’m not satisfied with it,

I also love it,

because it is as I am.

.

“It is only by way of pain one arrives at pleasure.”
― Marquis de Sade

.