Whodunnit

.

SHOEMURDER

.

When Jennifer suggested the Shoe for the latest in our Objectivity Challenge my mind went to romance, to drinking champagne out of a wedding slipper, to Cinderella.

But then I read the Creepy Pasta post and my mind went in a different direction.

That is the mind for you. So suggestive, so quick to spin. One minute, it’s all strawberries and cream, the next, the strawberry is blood and the cream curdled.

Personally I go for strawberries whenever possible, but it’s worth bearing in mind that I know the alternative and I choose not to go there. Often.

.

So silent and furtive were his movements, like those of a trained bloodhound picking out a scent, that I could not but think what a terrible criminal he would have made had he turned his energy and sagacity against the law instead of exerting them in its defence. – Observation of Dr. Watson

.