This is the Enderman my friend

The Last Match in Minecraft

.

“This is the end
Beautiful friend
This is the end
My only friend, the end

Of our elaborate plans, the end
Of everything that stands, the end
No safety or surprise, the end
I’ll never look into your eyes…again”

– The Doors, The End

.

Don’t look at the Enderman!

Those words were shouted at me,

in panic,

in anger,

in utter disbelief that I would do something so dangerous.

.

I was wandering around wide-eyed,

looking at everything.

I was new to this land,

it filled me with wonder,

curiosity,

and I was too naive to feel fear.

.

This was my first night,

filled with zombies trying to eat me,

giant spiders trying to poison me,

creepers trying to blow up my shelter

(which soon became irritating),

I could understand these perils,

but the Enderman…

was too fascinating to not look at,

especially after I was told not to do that very thing.

.

“Endermen do not attack unless provoked by a player attacking them or looking at their bodies or upper legs from up to 64 blocks away. When provoked, endermen will open their mouths and shake with rage; when provoked by being stared at, they will also make a lengthy, loud, threatening sound and will run towards the player to attack.”

Minecraft wiki on The Enderman

.

Stephen and I play a lot of video games together,

this has at times caused a case of,

grounds for divorce.

Our styles of play are very different.

He is precise, methodical, learns the ins and outs rapidly,

plays the game properly.

He does this in other aspects of life.

I,

on the other hand,

am a bungling, bumbling, adventurer,

who never does anything properly,

who likes to go where I’m not supposed to go,

and do what I should not do.

I am that way in other aspects of life.

.

“Can you picture what will be
So limitless and free
Desperately in need…of some…stranger’s hand
In a…desperate land”

– The Doors, The End

.

Minecraft is a superb game,

how you play it is revealing of how you play the game of life.

You can learn a lot about yourself,

about others,

and how well or not you play together.

.

Light is very important in the game,

torches can make all the difference between life and death,

run out of torches…

get to your last match in Minecraft…

and things can get rather dark and frightening,

especially when you’ve dug yourself in deep into the ground,

mining for gold and diamonds.

.

“There’s danger on the edge of town
Ride the King’s highway, baby
Weird scenes inside the gold mine
Ride the highway west, baby”

– The Doors, The End

.

lewis brindley - yogscast - quoteYogscast – the funny side of Minecraft