The Sum of All Parts

What makes you personally feel connected?

What bridges the gap between you and others?

.

dragonflysex

.

“Invisible threads are the strongest ties.”
― Friedrich Nietzsche

.

In modern times we may rely on the ephemeral to keep us connected,

and we panic when that connection is lost to us,

even for an few minutes.

No WIFI… now what…?

We like to be connected and find being disconnected uncomfortable.

.

TIME

.

“All we have to decide is what to do with the time that is given us.”
― J.R.R. Tolkien

.

Time connects us all even when we’re in different time zones,

but,

what happens when time stops,

comes apart?

.

LAYERED WATCH

.

“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”
― Douglas Adams

.

If time doesn’t connect us,

what does?

.

Perhaps it is the sum of all parts.

We always find a way to be connected,

even if the challenge to stay that way is great.

.

RETRO

.

“Attention is vitality. It connects you with others. It makes you eager. Stay eager.”
― Susan Sontag

.

I recently read a news article about a town,

which,

doesn’t have internet access,

isn’t broadband enabled,

has no WIFI,

mobile phones do not work there as there is no tower close by,

the residents rely solely on landlines to communicate,

and their landlines are down due to a lightning strike.

This has happened before,

they’re used to this,

but not happy about it,

and the repair time is slow.

.

Would you want to live there?

.

KING

.

“We cannot live only for ourselves. A thousand fibers connect us with our fellow men; and among those fibers, as sympathetic threads, our actions run as causes, and they come back to us as effects.”
― Herman Melville

.

Sometimes we’d like to disconnect,

especially when we’re overly connected to others,

as too much connection with others,

may cause us to lose our inner connection to ourselves,

but

when we’re disconnected from all of our outer connections,

does that really makes us more connected with ourselves?

.

SHACKLED4

.

“It’s so dark right now, I can’t see any light around me.
That’s because the light is coming from you. You can’t see it but everyone else can.”
― Lang Leav

.

This post is a stop-gap post,

designed to stay connected while disconnected from our objectivity challenge.

.

Breaking the Ice

.

“Many times a day I realize how much my own outer and inner life is built upon the labors of my fellow men, both living and dead, and how earnestly I must exert myself in order to give in return as much as I have received.”
― Albert Einstein

.