Hammer Blow

Drum roll please…..

For the latest in our Objectivity Challenge we are shooting a hammer.

Well, that’s right in my wheelhouse thought I.

This has ‘High Speed Photography’ written all over it.

I have shot an egg before, crushed in my hand (see below), so imagine what a hammer could do.

.

Egg

.

The answer to that question is, surprisingly little. It breaks the egg of course, but the result is less than dramatic. I tried fruit but it merely punctures and flattens it.

I considered a glass, but, broken glass all over the studio was not a part of the plan even though I accept the glass would have been a more dramatic shot.

But these Objectivity challenges are not always about the perfect shot, nor should they be.

They are about trying new things, looking at photography in a different way and sometimes, about failing.

So I give you an egg being shattered (undramatically) by a hammer.

.

hammeregg

.

“All of old. Nothing else ever. Ever tried. Ever failed. No matter. Try again. Fail again. Fail better.” – Samuel Beckett, Worstward Ho

.