The Game Controller

CONTROLLER

.

“In battle or business, whatever the game,
In law or in love, it is ever the same;
In the struggle for power, or the scramble for pelf,
Let this be your motto – Rely on yourself!
For, whether the prize be a ribbon or throne,
The victor is he who can go it alone!”

 John Godfrey Saxe

.

The Game Controller,

or whatever you want to call it,

Joystick,

Mistake-maker (I pressed the right buttons why is everything going wrong!?!),

.

Button Blamer.

Holy Grail of Power,

Friendship Ender (I loved you until we played a video game together),

is the next object in our Objectivity challenge.

.

This thing made of plastic and electrical bits,

shaped into a handholdable form,

which can perform magic,

is more dangerous than Monopoly,

where relationships are concerned.

.

monopoly rules - according to devin

.

It’s also more addictive than many other substances,

because once you have it in your hands,

you have the ultimate power,

over others,

over life and death,

and the law.

.

Assassin's Creed Creed - ctrlaltdel

.

When I was a child,

I was very serious,

old before my time and rather boring about it.

All the defining moments of my childhood were about not being a child,

even though I was a child this was not what I was meant to be.

I only tended to get praised when I did not behave my age,

but behaved like a short, stumpy, old, wizened human who knew more about being mature than adults,

was a moral goody-two-shoes,

who acted with propriety which was actually age-inappropriate for me.

.

Now that I am an adult,

and have suffered from this irreversible condition for many decades,

my defining moments tend to be about playing with things which aren’t toys,

but as far as I am concerned,

if I can play with them then they are toys.

.

Parks and Rec

.

Put me in front of a video game,

and, at your own peril,

give me the controller…

please fasten your seatbelt as this is going to be a bumpy ride,

immaturity has taken over and I’m going to have fun with it.

I will kill you if you get in my way,

and do it with a big fat smile.

.

I don’t do this in RL,

although sometimes I would like to…

I know the difference,

do you?

.

“Life is to be lived, not controlled; and humanity is won by continuing to play in the face of certain defeat.”
― Ralph Ellison

.

non-gamer tombraider - Mike Krahulik & Jerry Holkins