The Mirror

mirror

.

“Mirrors should think longer before they reflect.”
― Jean Cocteau

.

Mirror, mirror, on the wall…

Let me not ask you any questions at all,

just tell me what you see,

and hopefully it won’t destroy me.

.

The mirror is our next object in our Objectivity challenge.

.

oh… dear…

.

So many possibilities,

and yet,

so many boundaries

the greatest of which is none at all.

.

Narcissus reflectedNarcissisus lost… and found

.

I like mirrors,

even if they aren’t always kind to me.

They’re a threshold into the imagination,

within them we enter Wonderland,

even if it is back to front,

and wants to trap us in there,

maybe even kill us…

adventures come at a price,

which we never stop negotiating.

.

This particular mirror,

is one I’ve used before in photographic experiments,

with varying degrees of why did I do that,

attached to the results.

.

Mirror on the wallWithin the Mirror on the wall.

.

Let’s see what happens this time around…

but don’t ask the mirror what it thinks,

unless you’re ready to be constructively deconstructed by its critique.

.

“If you are irritated by every rub, how will your mirror be polished?”
― Rumi

.