The Mobile Telephone

iphone

.

“Seemed to me a phone was an impersonal instrument. If it felt like it, it let your personality go through its wires. If it didn’t want to, it just drained your personality away until what slipped through at the other end was some cold fish of a voice, all steel, copper, plastic, no warmth, no reality.”

― Ray Bradbury

.

I can’t think of anything to say.

My lips are over the transmitter,

with nothing to transmit.

Every part of me is speaking except my mouth.

.

Filling silence with the sound of nothing being said.

I’m sorry you have been disconnected.

.

“It’s easy to say the wrong thing on telephones; the telephone changes your meaning on you. First thing you know, you’ve made an enemy.”

― Ray Bradbury

.

Communicate

.

On the other end of the divide.

My ear is pressed against the receiver,

with nothing to receive.

We are so closely far apart.

.

Why aren’t they talking to me?

Is it because of something I said?

.

“Then, of course, the telephone’s such a convenient thing; it just sits there and demands you call someone who doesn’t want to be called. Friends were always calling, calling, calling me. Hell, I hadn’t any time of my own.”

― Ray Bradbury

.

The empty plate

.

The mobile telephone is the next object in our Objectivity challenge.

.