Smoky When Lit

Smoky when lit - pumpkin

.

“I had a good-talking candle last night in my bedroom. I was very tired but I wanted somebody to be with me, so I lit a candle and listened to its comfortable voice of light until I was asleep.”
― Richard Brautigan

.

From where do ideas emerge,

is it deep in the labyrinth of the being,

or in the wide open space of the cosmos.

.

A light turned on in the mind,

a glow in the caverns of feeling,

a spark of primal instinct.

.

A bolt of lightning from a storm,

glistening flecks upon an ocean,

a wish upon a winking star.

.

When carving a pumpkin,

it is best to let it carve itself,

the within and without working together.

.

The fire of inspiration,

needs friction,

everything is smoky when lit.

.

“I saw thousands of pumpkins last night
come floating in on the tide,
bumping up against the rocks and
rolling up on the beaches;
it must be Halloween in the sea”
― Richard Brautigan

.