All Keyed Up

All Keyed Up

.

“Someone told me the delightful story of the crusader who put a chastity belt on his wife and gave the key to his best friend for safekeeping, in case of his death. He had ridden only a few miles away when his friend, riding hard, caught up with him, saying ‘You gave me the wrong key!”
― Anaïs Nin

.

Keyed up,

nervous,

anxious,

excess energy turning around and around,

like a key in a lock,

is it opening something,

closing it,

or is the whole mechanism broken,

but it doesn’t know it.

.

There is laughter to be had,

in those moments when,

you watch someone else fumbling for their keys,

but when the fumbler is you,

there is nothing funny about it,

people please stop laughing,

this matter is serious,

strenuous,

exhausting.

.

“I felt a pang — a strange and inexplicable pang that I had never felt before.
It was homesickness.
Now, even more than I had earlier when I’d first glimpsed it, I longed to be transported into that quiet little landscape, to walk up the path, to take a key from my pocket and open the cottage door, to sit down by the fireplace, to wrap my arms around myself, and to stay there forever and ever.”
― Alan Bradley

.