Here’s to you, Lemmy

LEMMY

.

“You know I’m born to lose, and gambling’s for fools,
But that’s the way I like it baby,
I don’t wanna live for ever….” – Motörhead, Ace of Spades

.

I was around 15 years old and going to my first ever City away game on the coach. Rubik’s cubes were all the rage and I spent the journey playing with my cube, headphones in listening to the brand new album from Motorhead, Ace of Spades.

These were momentous times. Never to be forgotten. Everything was exciting, everything was palpable. Everything was possible.

Today, 35 years later, we mourn the man who left an indelible mark on my life because music so defines our memories.

You hear a song and you are immediately transported back to the time when it first made an impression on you.

Sounds, smells, the sights all around you return in sharp focus.

It is as though you are back there.

It was a day I will never forget.

Thanks Lemmy you magnificent bastard, now go and rest in peace. You’ve earned it.

.

“… and don’t forget the Joker.” – Motörhead, Ace of Spades

.