Duck! Here Comes Another Year!

New Year's Sparkler

.

“Tonight’s December thirty-first,
Something is about to burst.
The clock is crouching, dark and small,
Like a time bomb in the hall.
Hark, it’s midnight, children dear.
Duck! Here comes another year!”
― Ogden Nash

.

Sometimes I like to pretend,

that I’m immune to time and trend,

but,

I’m not,

so I always fall,

for a dream,

both large and small.

.

Through the Spy Glass

.

The idea that I could be,

a brand new me

ah, yes…

such a delight,

oblivious to my own sight,

who would I choose,

to express,

how would I…

something something

dress?

.

Wonderland

.

I’ve tried this before,

and,

at the end of the day,

I always end up as myself,

like a sparkler whose sparkle has been burned away.

.

COMPLICATION

.

But,

that’s rather lovely,

in and of itself,

to accept,

being myself.

.

Bleeding Heart

.

Happy birthday, New Year!

Don’t throw out the old,

that year is still dear,

to those of us who are counting such things,

and learning from it all.

.

“Indeed, everybody wants to be a wow, But not everybody knows exactly how.”
― Ogden Nash

.

Cake

.

 Happy New Year,

from us to you,

best wishes for…

whatever you wish!