The Monkey

Monkey

.

“If man evolved from monkeys and apes, why do we still have monkeys and apes?”
― Steven Wright

.

Happy New Year!

(you’ve said this before)

[Yes, I know, but it’s a wish of good luck and worth repeating]

.

From the moment I became aware of the concept of,

the monkey mind,

and the need to silence it,

because it’s a devilish distraction,

a naughty chimp,

flooding your serious mind,

and it’s need to concentrate on one thing

with playful plenty…

oooh, look at that over there!

I’ve tried to stop my inner monkey from,

getting up or down,

to monkey business.

.

“I’m a barrel of monkeys, kid, though mostly I figure monkeys stuck in a barrel are just going to be pissed off.”
― J.D. Robb

.

Needless to say,

the more I tried to shut the monkey up,

the louder it screamed.

I’d scream too if someone tried to put me in a soundproof cage,

might as well,

shout,

rattle those bars,

and let it all out.

.

Why is it so important to silence the monkey mind?

Who invented that rule,

and why?

What was their problem,

the monkey on their back,

and why have we inherited it?

.

“Democracy is the art and science of running the circus from the monkey-cage.”
― H.L. Mencken

.

The next subject in our Objectivity challenge is,

the monkey

(not a real one, of course, as that wouldn’t be an object)

.

To celebrate the upcoming,

Year of the Monkey,

and,

since I’m a Monkey,

(in Chinese Astrology)

who loves monkeying around,

creating creative chaos,

and creating out of chaos,

I thought I’d share the images we’ve done,

up to now,

for our photography challenge.

.

If it’s a mess,

then so be it…

monkey-likey!

.

“Now run along and play, but don’t get into trouble.’
George promised to be good. But it is easy for little monkeys to forget.”
― H.A. Rey

.