A Little Night Baking

“I read recipes the same way I read science fiction. I get to the end and say to myself “Well, that’s not going to happen.”
― Rita Rudner

.

Once again I was on the threshold,

that great divide,

between what one imagines,

and what one actually ends up doing.

.

SB 1 - tools

.

As so often happens,

when faced with the practical reality of making a dream come true,

I wish I hadn’t had the idea in the first place.

Do I give up without even trying or push through to the other side?

.

SB 2 - Ingredients

.

While Steve and the cat,

dozed beside a roaring fire,

on a cold Winter’s night,

I decided to do a little night baking.

.

SB 3 - butter

.

This was a challenge,

far tougher than it seemed,

for the last time I tried this recipe,

it proved to be one for disaster.

.

SB 4 - milk

.

I used bicarbonate of soda instead of baking powder,

and although it tasted rather nice at first bite,

the aftershock of the aftertaste,

still sends shudders to the core of my baking soul.

.

SB 5 - pourintothemix

.

I never wanted to go unto that breach again,

and yet something urged me to do so,

to snatch victory from the jaws of defeat,

and make a tasty treat to eat.

.

SB 6 - mixed

.

I didn’t have any of the correct tools,

but even if my kitchen was a baker’s paradise,

I would have still cooked to the beat

of a rebellious mix tape.

.

SB 7 - dough

.

A pinch of classical,

a cup of old style mess,

with a dollop of newfangled anything goes

to get things going.

.

SB 8 - rollitout

.

Kneading to feel the roughness,

turning smooth,

rolling in the textures

of creating with bare hands.

.

SB 9 - press

.

Willing yourself forward,

through each step of the process,

processing every detail,

through the eye of a now-floured lens.

.

SB 10 - face

.

What will it be,

once you’ve done all you can,

to make it so,

then let it go.

.

SB 11 - bake

.

A feast awaits perhaps,

the senses quiver with anticipation,

wondering if satisfaction will be therein,

or if the yearning hunger will go unfed.

.

SB 12 - done

.

It looks almost good,

but is it good enough to eat,

or is a case of,

this is as good as it gets.

.

SB 13 - eat

.

The morning after the night before,

the regrets which might rise,

fell to the floor like crumbs,

that which was baked was no more.

.

“Winter is the time for comfort, for good food and warmth, for the touch of a friendly hand and for a talk beside the fire: it is the time for home.”
― Edith Sitwell

.

Many thanks to Whats4eats for providing the recipe used for my baking experiment.