Do-It-Yourself

Rusted Lathe

.

“The end justifies the means. But what if there never is an end? All we have is means.”
― Ursula K. Le Guin, The Lathe of Heaven

.

Those times when I need someone else the most

are also those times when I reject others the most.

.

This is never clearer than when

I try to do D-I-Y.

.

No matter how often

the Do-it-yourself instruction manual

tells me that I can do this myself

master this learning curve

with the help of some tools

some materials

some knowledge of practical matters

like gravity

physics

and how to hold a nail when using a hammer

some idea of what you are doing

why you are doing it

and what you aim to achieve

(and how it rarely lives up to what you hope to achieve)

I still am uncertain as to whether I can actually do it myself.

.

This self doubt

makes me all the more determined

to do this alone

rather than call in reinforcements.

.

I admire you for already knowing how to do this,

but I want to admire myself for having learned how to do this.

.

Please help…

go away!

.

“I suppose it is tempting, if the only tool you have is a hammer, to treat everything as if it were a nail.”
― Abraham Maslow, Toward a Psychology of Being

.

Bent nail