Through the Windoor

through the back door

.

“It was always Johnny’s rule
To be looking at the sky
And the clouds that floated by;
But what just before him lay,
In his way,
Johnny never thought about…”

– Heinrich Hoffman, Struwwelpeter

.

If I seem a bit

distracted

to you

it’s because

my head

is in the clouds

which makes it hard to see

what is right in front of me

lips apart

about to speak

with nothing yet

to say

as all is abstract

silence before the

brainstorm

.

Am I looking

at you

at the door

through the window in the door

at what lies beyond

the self

or

at myself

reflected

in the pane

viewing what is within

am I there

tripping on

far flung places

or am I here

in the now

fleeting as it is

did I choose to remain

or leave

.

Your guess is

as good

as mine

when

I’m

a johnny head-in-the-air

.

“Johnny watched the bright round sun
Going in and coming out;
This was all he thought about.
So he strode on, only think!
To the river’s very brink…”

– Heinrich Hoffman, Struwwelpeter

.