Sans Fards… avec whatever

che seurat sera

.

“Maybe your country is only a place you make up in your own mind. Something you dream about and sing about. Maybe it’s not a place on the map at all, but just a story full of people you meet and places you visit, full of books and films you’ve been to. I’m not afraid of being homesick and having no language to live in. I don’t have to be like anyone else. I’m walking on the wall and nobody can stop me.”
― Hugo Hamilton

.

It was the first time, and it wouldn’t be the last

time that I

would go without

(but going without didn’t mean I didn’t have something)

.

The Sans Fards movement

(also known as going without make-up

then taking a selfie

and posting it online to prove that you did it)

has gained accolades

and ground

in the abstract

of the world

of the internet

but

what does it mean

without its made-up without make-up meaning?

.

I’ve gone sans fards

without make up

since I left my teens

because

I’m lazy perhaps

maybe I’d look better with it

succeed more than I have without it

but

putting on a face over my face

(my mother referred to make-up as putting on her face)

just seems like more work

than I want to do

and I have enough of that

already

.

Before I went the way of the

I’m not going to do this

I did do it

was a tourist in the land of make up

and had experiences which

made me not want to do it

be there

the weirdest of which was

being viewed as a call girl

when I was sixteen

.

While it is never okay

to judge a book by its cover

when the book is a person

and the cover is make up

and conclude something along the lines of

this person is asking for whatever they get

whatever I give them

it’s also not okay to assume that

people aren’t going to judge a book by its cover

just because you tell them not to

that it’s not okay

.

The design

and advertising

business

is all about

assuming people do that

and using what they do

to get them to buy your product

and sell them the product based on their

way of judging

.

At sixteen

I wasn’t selling anything

even if some people thought I was

selling myself

I did overdo it

as people of that age

sometimes do

I wanted to look older

I just didn’t realise that being older

wasn’t as ideal as

it seemed

to those as young

and as old

as I was

.

We live

and learn

and

keep learning from

life

.

“It’s lovely to live on a raft. We had the sky up there, all speckled with stars, and we used to lay on our backs and look up at them, and discuss about whether they was made or only just happened.”
― Mark Twain

.