Little Things Please Little Minds

The Stand

.

“You will breathe life into the stillness, giving meaning and purpose to all the actions which are to follow.”
― Gary Gygax

.

I have always been

rather proud

of

my ability

to be pleased by little things

if it means my mind is little too

then

thank goodness for the blessing

I delight in it

rather than

the cherry on top

of a grand desert

that doesn’t make my heart flutter

with satisfaction

as much as

a final crumb

found

after all has been devoured

that tiny morsel

rescued

by the tip

of a moistened finger

delivered to the tip

of an eager tongue

flouting rules of

desert eating

politeness

and propriety

is immensely delightful

and delicious

however

recently

I have found myself

being swept off my feet

by

larger things

like the stand

featured in the photo

it’s still small compared to the large of the world

insignificant in comparison to important things

it won’t solve the crisis

in the news

or elsewhere

but it does soften the harshness

of starkness

and

it is also a symbol

of

a shared journey

and experience

of life

being lived

maybe this is the crumb

we’ll leave behind

when we’re gone

.

“I would like the world to remember me as the guy who really enjoyed playing games and sharing his knowledge and his fun pastimes with everybody else.”
― Gary Gygax

.