A Vehicle of Visual Communication

“You don’t make a photograph just with a camera. You bring to the act of photography all the pictures you have seen, the books you have read, the music you have heard, the people you have loved.”
― Ansel Adams

.

Today is

apparently

World Photography Day

to celebrate

I thought I would share

a story

(and some photos)

.

Classic Caroriginal photo taken with an I-phone of a classic car I saw while out and about

.

I’m a visual person

which means my mind thinks in images

for me to talk (or write)

I have to translate images into words

my memory is an inner photo album

.

“A picture is a secret about a secret, the more it tells you the less you know.”
― Diane Arbus

.

Last night while browsing documentaries

I spotted one which claimed to reveal the secrets

of David Hockney’s work process

(I didn’t watch it because…)

the image which accompanied this documentary

was of the artist holding a camera

this reminded me instantly of

my father

also an artist

and also an artist who held a camera

(…I felt I had already seen the documentary

while taking mental pictures of my father living)

.

“To photograph is to hold one’s breath, when all faculties converge to capture fleeting reality. It’s at that precise moment that mastering an image becomes a great physical and intellectual joy.”
― Henri Cartier-Bresson

.

One of my memory snapshots of my father

is of him and his camera

(with his loaded his camera bag over his shoulder)

taking what seemed like endless photos

of everything and everyone

(which could be tiresome if you were his subject and he was directing you

or if you were waiting to go somewhere and he was fine where he was

taking photos of something you couldn’t see

the way he saw it)

to later translate those images

into paintings

.

“Taking pictures is savoring life intensely, every hundredth of a second.”
― Marc Riboud

.

sometimes when people found out

that many of his paintings came from photographs

which he took

while out and about

they would scoff at his work

(and his secret revealed)

somehow see it as less worthy

less artistic

.

“The eye should learn to listen before it looks.”
― Robert Frank

.

(those most likely to be judgmental in this way

were often other artists

who were annoyed that they hadn’t thought to do things this way

or were being purists about the craft

wanting the present to continue in the same way as it had in the past

never evolving or incorporating new features

or were simply envious of the attention which someone else was getting for their work

while they were being ignored or felt that they were

compared to someone else

and other human issues)

.

Classic Car viewed thru my eyeswhat I actually saw while looking at the car which is why I took its picture

(and later on while reviewing the pics I realised this car had a Batman shadow, so it’s Batman’s car!)

.

My father passed his passion

for photography

(the visual imagery)

onto me

but

for awhile I abandoned the medium

even hated it

for reasons of human issues

but

eventually I returned to it

learned to love it again

(more so because… absence makes the heart grow fonder)

because it is a

vehicle of communication for me

.

“The camera is an instrument that teaches people how to see without a camera.”
― Dorothea Lange

.