Always Searching, Sometimes Finding

mannequin

.

“We travel, some of us forever, to seek other states, other lives, other souls.”
― Anaïs Nin

.

For as long as

I have known myself

I have been on a quest

this questing

ranges from

the simple

search for

a delicious treat

to fill a minor hunger

to

a complex journey

through a labyrinth

mainly looking for a way out

but also seeking the answer

to how I got in there

in the first place

.

“The most important reason for going from one place to another is to see what’s in between, and they took great pleasure in doing just that.”
― Norton Juster

.

 One such labyrinth

was an old furniture warehouse

which I visited recently

there amongst

corridors of other people’s discarded junk

was a treasure

after which

I had been lusting

for many years

a mannequin

naked in her glory

I have no idea why

I want one of these

sewing

bespoke clothing

is not the reason

as the stitches I make

are only to keep

what clothing I have from falling apart

(the idea of shopping

of acquiring new clothes

fills me with a dread

similar to taking a test

am I sure I will fail

for I was running barefoot through imagination

rather than studying)

should you ever see someone

in the street

who looks like a ragdoll

that is probably me

.

“It’s dreadful what little things lead people to misunderstand each other.”
― L.M. Montgomery

.

mannequin-framed

.